Salted Caramel Brownies

Picture 8

I feel like salted caramel has became very popular in the recent years. I’m someone that has gotten sucked in the trend. (It’s just so good how could you not?!) Like the recipe found on Pinterest, I made the caramel but just used boxed brownie mix. Last time I tried to make caramel years ago boiling a condensed milk can in water, it resulted in an explosion of boiling caramel going all over my kitchen and myself, burning my skin. So I was very hesitant to try again, and with reason. Sorry for the semi blurry pictures.

Ingredients:

Box-mix brownies

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

2 tablespoons light corn syrup

1/4 cup sour cream

Sea salt

Directions:

1) Make box mix brownies

DSCF5607

2) Pour brownie mix into a pan that is lined with parchment paper and bake normally. DO NOT USE WAX PAPER. I’M AN IDIOT AND IT SMELT LIKE FIRE THE WHOLE TIME AND WAS A BITCH TO GET THE WAX PAPER OFF THE COOLED BROWNIES.

DSCF5608

DSCF5609

3) Next is the caramel. In a saucepan mix the corn syrup, heavy whipping cream and the sugar.

DSCF5612

4) Set stove to high heat and constantly stir. The original recipe says until it reached 250 degrees but I didn’t have a thermometer and I burnt it BADLY the first time around.

DSCF5620

DSCF5621

DSCF5622

DSCF5623

(Probably should have stopped here)

DSCF5624

Yay brownies! NOPE burnt caramel that made my house smell all day.

DSCF5625

Where I stopped it on attempt 2. You can tell by the color because as soon as it starts to look like caramel, it’s done.

5) Remove from heat and stir in 1 teaspoon sea salt and 1/4 cup sour cream. Pour the caramel over the cooled brownies.

DSCF5626

6) Sprinkle sea salt over the hot caramel. I like salt so I may have been a little generous with the salt sharing.

DSCF5627

7) Refrigerate until the caramel is firm and then cut. I had a bit of difficulty cutting through the caramel so I turned it upside down so I was cutting soft to hard, not hard to soft.

IMG_4799

IMG_4800

EVALUATION

Taste: Through all the problems I had with this recipe, they were actually quite delicious. The caramel was a bit too hard for the soft brownies. I don’t know if that was because of something I did or that’s just how they are. But they tasted yummy.
Time: 45 minutes for cooking. Approx 4 hours from start to serve.
Price: $15 $20
Difficulty: See above. MANY difficulties.

Follow me on Twitter @PinningInRL

Original Pinterest link: http://www.pipandebby.com/pip-ebby/2012/7/17/salted-caramel-brownies.html

Leave a Reply

