Bacon Pancake Strips

Picture 50

Last week I went to see Nick Offerman’s stand up (he plays Ron Swanson on Park and Rec) and his love of meat got me into the bacon mood. It just so happens that we had extra bacon in my house from Easter too. I was going to just make some simple eggs and bacon this morning when I remembered this amazing recipe I pinned that I’ve been dying to try. Needless to say, I need to go to the gym after work.

IMG_5574

Ingredients:
Bacon
Pancake mix
Syrup
Butter

Directions:
1) Cook your bacon. (For some reason I decided to bake mine but that takes like 15 minutes so I’d say either fry or microwave it for fastness)

IMG_5575

2) Make pancake mix. I made mine thick so I could have fluffy pancakes.

IMG_5577

3) I did this one at a time. Lay bacon down on pan/skillet/whatever you’re using and cover it in pancake mix.

IMG_5578

4) Then it’s just like making a pancake. Keep checking bottom and flip when golden. I cooked mine a little longer than normal because I was scared the batter around the bacon wouldn’t cook fully. And that’s it!

IMG_5580

IMG_5582

IMG_5584

EVALUATION

Taste: Not as bacon-y as I hoped for. Maybe if the pancakes were thinner.
Time:
30 minutes
Price:
I had the bacon and pancake mix but I can’t imagine it being more than $10
Difficulty:
As long as you know how to make pancake, you’re good.

Follow me on Twitter @PinningInRL

Leave a Reply

