St. Patrick’s Day Clover Cupcakes

Picture 43

Warning: Do not try to make these if you don’t have hours of free time. These looked so cute and I wanted to make them for my co-workers and friends. But with my lack of patience because I quickly got very tired making these at 11 pm, they didn’t come out at good as I hope. But I still like them.

IMG_5392

Ingredients:

Cake mix (probably would have worked better with white cake)
Vanilla Icing
Green Mike & Ike’s (or other green candies)
Mentos
Green and black food coloring
Marbles
Ziploc sandwich bags
Piping bag

Directions:

1) Using 3 marbles, shape the cupcakes liners in the shape of clovers. This was difficult for me. I found it easier to add the liner first then add the marbles.

IMG_5393

2) Make your cake mix as usual

IMG_5396

3) Add desired amount of green food coloring

IMG_5397

IMG_5398

(Don’t drop the food coloring into the batter.)

IMG_5399

By adding tons of green food dye and then using neon green food dye, I still couldn’t achieve a nice dark green. That’s why I suggest maybe using white cake, maybe it’ll get darker.

4) Scoop some batter into a Ziploc bag and cut a small tip off one of the ends. This will make it easier to place batter neatly in the cupcake liners.

IMG_5403

IMG_5404

5) Bake for 12-15 minutes

IMG_5406

Oops 15 minutes was too much for me. I switched it about 13 minutes.

6) Add green dye to icing. (Save a spoonful for the black.) Using the Wilton 47 icing tip in my piping bag, I just made a weird texture design for the icing.

7) Added green Mike & Ike’s for stems and Mentos for the eyes. Used black food coloring and the spoonful of saved icing and make eyes and a mouth.

IMG_5407

IMG_5408

EVALUATION

Taste: Normal cupcake taste haha
Time:
 Almost 3 hours! I got 4 pans out of the batter (that’s 48 cupcakes!)
Price: About $15
Difficulty: Kind of hard. You just have to have patience.

Follow me on Twitter @PinningInRL

Original Pinterest link http://www.easy-cake-decorating.com/Best_Of_The_Best_Cake_Decorating_Tips_-stpatricksdaycupcakestwo.html

Leave a Reply

