Broccoli and White Cheddar Mac & Cheese

Picture 36

I gave my friend free range of my food board on Pinterest offering to cook her anything. She chose three options and of course I picked this because if you couldn’t already tell, I love pasta and broccoli. I’m not really a fan of homemade mac & cheese, I’m totally a Krafts girl but everyone’s got to try new things.

IMG_5353

Ingredients:

2 cups of frozen broccoli

1/2 pound of elbow macaroni

1 1/2 tablespoons of butter

3 tablespoons of flour

1 1/3 cups milk

6 oz sharp white cheddar cheese, grated

4 oz pepper jack cheese, grated

Directions:

1) Follow directions on the box/bag of broccoli to cook

2) Boil water in large pot, add elbow macaroni and follow directions to cook

3) Melt butter in sauce pan over low heat. Add 2 tablespoons flour and whisk to form a paste (roux)

4) This is where I messed up, my milk got burnt and clumpy the first time. The second time I took the pan off heat for a minute before I added milk, while still whisking

5) Slowly pour in milk, while continuing to whisk

6) Once all milk was added, I put the heat back on to medium

7) I thought the mixture was going to be thick right away so I added another tablespoon of flour.

IMG_5356

8) After whisking for probably 5 minutes, it began to thicken. I then turned the heat to lowest possible and slowly whisked in the cheese.

IMG_5357

IMG_5360

9) Put macaroni in a big dish, mix in cheese sauce and broccoli. (I took too long to make the roux so I put it in the oven for 10 minutes to heat up)

IMG_5361

EVALUATION 

Taste: Very good, but tasted more like an alfredo sauce than mac & cheese. It was just lightly sauced, not thick and creamy like normal.

Time: 45 minutes

Price: Under $20

Difficulty: The roux can be difficult to make but everything else is easy.

Follow me on Twitter @PinningInRL

Original Pinterest link: http://cravingchronicles.com/2011/03/31/broccoli-and-white-cheddar-mac-cheese/

Leave a Reply

